Committees - Technical Advisory Committee


In view of recent developments on the international racing scene, such as a reorganisation in some countries and the emergence of new areas on the international racing scene, the Executive Council of the International Federation of Horseracing Authorities has decided to enlarge its membership base while maintaining a balanced distribution of votes between the three main racing regions in the world: North and South America, Asia, and Europe.

At its meeting on March 2002, the Executive Council discussed the future status of those Committees, formerly under the International Executive Liaison Committee's authority, particularly that of the International Departmental Meeting (IDM) and decided that, in its place, a new body, the "Technical Advisory Committee" (TAC) should be formed with somewhat amended Terms of Reference and an expanded membership, as follows:

The TAC held its first meeting in Paris on February 2003.



To facilitate the smooth running and administration of horseracing internationally (before, during and after the event) by determining, and encouraging adherence to, best practice in regard to procedures and rules of racing.


  1. To keep under review, and to recommend to the Executive Council appropriate amendments or additions to, the International Agreement on Breeding, Racing and Wagering (IABRW).

  2. To act as the conduit committee for the IABRW. In this capacity, the TAC is to:

    1. Receive all proposals for changes to the IABRW where these have not been generated by the TAC itself;

    2. Consider each such proposal in the context of the IABRW as a whole;

    3. Suggest, to the committee sponsoring each such proposal, any amendments to the proposal to ensure the internal consistency of the IABRW, prior to making final recommendations to the Executive Council.

  3. To consider the global implications of policies proposed or enacted by the IFHA's Regional Groups (ARF, EMHF, OSAF, Pan-American Racing Conference) and to encourage global uniformity of process and approach, (in conjunction, where relevant, with the Committee on the Harmonisation of Racing Rules), wherever practicable and consistent with the specific aims of the individual Regional Groups.

  4. To provide a vehicle through which advice and education may be provided, to developing racing nations in particular, on policies and the practical application of rules and procedures in respect of the administration of horseracing.

  5. To discuss and resolve any practical difficulties encountered in the pursuit of international horseracing, and to discuss developments that may impact on this pursuit, thereby seeking to pre-empt such difficulties, in conjunction with, where relevant, other IFHA Committees.

  6. To address the administrative implications of the movement of racehorses between countries and their traceability, to complement the work of the International Movement of Horses Committee.

  7. To co-ordinate with the International Stud Book Committee on subjects of common interest.

  8. To provide a channel for regular communication between racing administrators internationally, so as to allow agile reaction to practical issues, as they emerge.


Present at 2023 Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) Meeting:

International Federation of Horseracing Authorities (IFHA)

  • Mr Andrew Harding (TAC Chairman, IFHA Executive Director, ARF Secretary-General and Hong Kong Jockey Club)

  • Dr Paull Khan (TAC Vice Chairman, IFHA Executive Council, EMHF Secretary-General and British Horseracing Authority)

  • Mr James Ogilvy (IFHA Director, Hong Kong Jockey Club)

  • Mr Andrew Chesser (IFHA Director, US Jockey Club)

  • Dr Craig Suann (IFHA Technical Advisor, Asian Racing Federation)

  • Mr Kim Kelly (IFHA International Harmonisation of Racing Rules Committee Chair)

Asian Racing Federation (ARF)

  • Mr Satish Iyer (Indian Stud Book, Royal Western India Turf Club)

  • Mr Niranjan Singh Bhati (Royal Western India Turf Club)

  • Mr K. L. Cheng (Hong Kong Jockey Club)

  • Mr Matt Orr (Hong Kong Jockey Club)

  • Mr Adrian Tong (Hong Kong Jockey Club)

  • Mr Marc Van Gestel (Hong Kong Jockey Club)

  • Dr Atsushi Kubo (Japan Racing Association)

  • Dr Fumiaki Mizobe (Japan Racing Association)

  • Mr Vee Moodley (National Horseracing Authority, South Africa)

  • Ms Julie Walker (New Zealand Thoroughbred Racing)

  • Mr Paul Eriksson (Racing Australia)

European and Mediterranean Horseracing Federation (EMHF)

  • Dr Franco Castelfranchi (MASAF, Italy)

  • Mr Murat Birol Katim (Jockey Club of Turkey)

  • Mr Faith Ersoy (Jockey Club of Turkey)

  • Mrs Uzeyir Keles (Jockey Club of Turkey)

  • Ms Cliodhna Guy (Irish Horseracing Regulatory Board)

  • Mr Simon Cooper (International Stud Book)

  • Mr Tim Naylor (British Horseracing Authority)

  • Ms Aja Hall (British Horseracing Authority)

  • Dr Hubert Uphaus (German Stud Book)

  • Dr Rudiger Schmanns (German Stud Book)

  • Mr Samuel Fargeat (France Galop)

South American Organisation for the Promotion of the Thoroughbred (OSAF)

  • Mr Oscar Bertoletti (OSAF)

  • Mr Ignacio Pavlovsky (OSAF and IFHA Technical Advisor for South America)

North American & the Caribbean

  • Mr Matt Iuliano (US Jockey Club, IFHA Technical Advisor for North America)

  • Dr Mary Scollay (Horse Racing Integrity & Welfare Unit (HIWU))

  • Mr Ed Martin (Association of Racing Commissioners International)

  • Mrs Kristin Werner* (US Jockey Club)

TAC Secretary

  • Ms Michelle Fogarty (Weatherbys Ireland)