Tuesday, January 27, 2009
US votes Curlin as horse of the year

The National Thoroughbred Racing Association (NTRA) tonight announced the winners of the 2008 Eclipse Awards at the Fontainebleau Miami Beach in Miami Beach, Fla. The 38th annual Eclipse Awards are voted on and presented by the NTRA, Daily Racing Form (DRF) and the National Turf Writers Association (NTWA). The votes are tabulated and certified by Ernst & Young LLP. Below are the winners in all categories (horse age in parentheses where applicable):

  • Horse of the Year: Curlin
  • Two-Year-Old Male: Midshipman
  • Two-Year-Old Filly: Stardom Bound
  • Three-Year-Old Male: Big Brown
  • Three-Year-Old Filly: Proud Spell
  • Older Male: Curlin (4)
  • Older Female: Zenyatta (4)
  • Female Sprinter: Indian Blessing (3)
  • Male Sprinter: Benny the Bull (5)
  • Male Turf Horse: Conduit (IRE) (3)
  • Female Turf Horse: Forever Together (4)
  • Steeplechase Horse: Good Night Shirt (7)
  • Owner: Stronach Stables
  • Breeder: Adena Springs
  • Jockey: Garrett Gomez
  • Apprentice Jockey: Pascacio Lopez
  • Trainer: Steve Asmussen

    The Eclipse Awards

    Eclipse Awards are bestowed upon the Thoroughbred horses and individuals whose outstanding achievements have earned them the title of Champion in their respective divisions. The Eclipse Awards are named after the great 18th-century racehorse and foundation sire Eclipse, who began racing at age five and was undefeated in 18 starts, including eight walkovers. Eclipse sired the winners of 344 races, including three Epsom Derbies.

  • For additional information, please visit