Monday, November 27, 2017Contact: Andrew Chesser
Hugh Bowman to Receive 2017 Longines World’s Best Jockey Award

After leading most of the year, and thanks in part to his remarkable success with Winx, Hugh Bowman has taken the  title of 2017 Longines World’s Best Jockey. It is the first time the Australian jockey has won the award, which he secured with his victory in Sunday’s Japan Cup in association with Longines.
Bowman won 10 of the world’s Top 100 Group or Grade 1 races, and six of those victories came aboard Winx. In all, Bowman was first across the wire in the Tab Chipping Norton Stakes (Winx), Citi Hong Kong Gold Cup (Werther), China Horse Club George Ryder Stakes (Winx),
Longines Queen Elizabeth Stakes (Winx), Chairman's Sprint Prize (Lucky Bubbles), Standard Chartered Champions & Chater Cup (Werther), Colgate Optic White Stakes (Winx), Seppelt Turnbull Stakes (Winx), William Hill Cox Plate (Winx), and the Japan Cup in association with Longines (Cheval Grand).

The scoring process rewards jockeys for finishing in the top three, giving Bowman a total of 142 points on the year. With 124 points, second place went to Ryan Moore, who won the Longines World’s Best Jockey award in both 2014 and 2016. Lanfranco “Frankie” Dettori, who won the award in 2015, was third with 86 points.

Bowman will be recognized at a ceremony held during the gala dinner of the Longines Hong Kong International Races on 8 December 2017 at the Hong Kong Convention & Exhibition Centre. The full and final standings can be found at

The awarding of the Longines World’s Best Jockey is based upon performances in the 100 highest-rated Group 1 and Grade 1 races as established for the year by the Longines World’s Best Racehorse Rankings Committee. The scoring incorporates races from 1 December of the previous year until 30 November of the current year.  Jockeys accrue 12 points for a win, 6 points for placing second, and 4 points for placing third. 

This system and the presentation of the Longines World’s Best Jockey Award were both established in 2014 and marked the first time a jockey was quantitatively recognized as the best among his or her global peers.

About the International Federation of Horseracing Authorities (IFHA):

The International Federation of Horseracing Authorities (IFHA) is the world peak body for the international sport of Thoroughbred racing. Its members are the national racing authorities across the globe which stage Thoroughbred races.

Major areas of the IFHA’s activities include:

• Making and amending the International Agreement on Breeding, Racing and Wagering (the IABRW)
• Policy development relating to welfare and safety of horses and riders
• International Race Planning and Grading (“black type”)
• World Rankings
• Equine Prohibited Substances and Practices
• Harmonization of Race Day Rules
• Fostering commercial development of the racing industry globally

The IFHA is a foundation member with Fédération Equestre Internationale (FEI) of the International Horse Sports Confederation and is affiliated to the World Organisation for Animal Health (OIE).

E-Mail :